Home > Family, For Sale, Friends, God, Jenn & Me > Have I mentioned lately that I have TOYS FOR SALE?

Have I mentioned lately that I have TOYS FOR SALE?

Post Thumbnail? Huh.

So Saturday is Halloween. We’re doin’ a little summin-summin at my family’s house that night. But, I’m having a hard time getting into it. I mean, I know I’m gonna have fun with my family and friends there. We’ll have hot dogs and sodey pops and goodies, and we’ll have a good ol’ time. But since I’m pretty dang broke right now (hence the title, heh), I’m not spending any money on a costume this year. We’re just going to have a masquerade of sorts, and I’m going to try and find something to use that I already own.

I don’t know if my lack of excitement is entirely because of a lack of funds or not, but don’t you hate when that’s the case? Don’t you hate when, whether you like it or not, your happiness ends up being related to the amount of money you have? I HATE that. I think it’s completely absurd. I hate that whenever the money dwindles down, there’s a direct correlation to how depressed I get. And no matter how much I sit here and thank God for all the blessings I already have– Jenn, a healthy(ish) life, the ability to pay my bills– I still kill my own buzz by subconsciously thinking “Well, this would be a whole lot better if I had some cash.” LAME, Collin.

But what can you do? We’re so flippin’ brainwashed into thinking this way. There’s just no escaping it, short of almost completely withdrawing from society in general. All I can do is continue to pray and thank the Good Lord for everything I do have in my life, and hopefully that will win out in my brain eventually.

But right now, right this very moment, when I have something I really want to get excited about and spend money on… well, this round is a losing battle.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

