Home > Jenn & Me, School > One of those nights…

One of those nights…

Have you ever had something happen to you that was a complete and total accident, but you had someone just rip you to shreds for it? Happened to me last night. I spent the entire evening feeling horrible after the person confronted me about what happened, and it totally screwed up my brain just in time for my Renaissance midterm. Needless to say, the midterm didn’t go nearly as well as it should have. I think I did all right, though. There were a couple of questions that I just totally brain-farted on when I shouldn’t have, but there was nothing I could do about that.

What happened to mess me up so bad? Well, it’s not really something I want to talk about in a public forum. If I ever talk to you face to face, and you REALLY want to know, then I certainly don’t mind telling you. But it’s one of those things where, quite frankly, I’m completely and utterly humiliated for screwing up so bad.

Now don’t worry, I didn’t cheat or anything horrid like that. 🙂 I didn’t do anything that has ruined my life or anything else’s, and in the grand scheme of things, everything’s going to be all right. But it still happened, and my pride has been seriously bruised.

That being said, I’ll get over it. It sucks, but I’ll be all right. My conscience is clean, and I know that the Big Guy who really matters knows what’s up. So it’s all good.

So I’m trying to take it easy today. Not a whole lot going on, and I don’t have anything due for the rest of the week. We’re watching a video in Pirates of the Caribbean tonight, so that’ll be fun. And then I’ll get to enjoy a nice quiet dinner with Jenn, which always makes me feel better. She got really upset when I called her yesterday after the “incident” happened, and I don’t blame her for it at all. She was scared that the repercussions would result in something even worse happening, but she calmed down pretty quick after I explained everything. She’s been nothing but supportive ever since. We met Misty at Chick-Fil-A for dinner last night after school, and Jenn bought me dinner. So sweet. She really went the extra mile to help me feel better. She always does, and that’s one of the many reasons I love that gal so much.

Jon Acuff on Stuff Christians Like posted a rather timely entry today that rang very true for me. Is it true that I’m stupid for letting this happen?

“No, it’s not true. You are not that word, that thing, that label someone or even yourself is asking you to wear. Showing you compassion is the reason God gets up in the morning. That is what’s true.”

“Yet the LORD longs to be gracious to you; he rises to show you compassion.” — Isaiah 30:18

On a side note, next time you go to CFA, get provolone and bacon on your chikin sammich. OMG so good.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

