2016/2012

So I’m watching the International Olympic Committee vote on where the 2016 Summer Games will take place. Ol’ Wacky Baracky’s been busy forgetting he’s no longer a US Senator representing Illinois (whoops, did I say that out loud?), so obviously the news has been all over this particular round of voting.

Personally, I’m divided. On the one hand, Chicago’s a mess right now. If you’ve done any digging lately, you’ll see that crime there has just been hideous right now. BUT, if Chicago wins it, they’ve got a little over six years to clean up the mess before everyone comes over. And hey, anything to help clean it up has to be a good thing, right? So heck, more power to ’em. My vote’s for Rio, though, just because South America has never hosted before.

So let’s see what happens… Voting has closed, so now they’re tallying… Whoa, there goes Chicago! There’s a shocker. Tough luck there, BO. Now Tokyo’s eliminated. Tough break. And the winner is. . . going to be announced in an hour.

D’oh! Oh well.

Anyway, I also watched a scene from the 2012 movie this morning. In it, John Cusack is racing to get his family out of California as it’s sinking into the ocean. They barely escape on their plane, after driving them in a limo through the destruction of Los Angeles.

In other words, SWEET! LOL! I so can’t wait for this movie! I loved The Day After Tomorrow, so I’ll prob’ly love this movie even more. Very cool. I mean, yeah, cheesy. But come on, you know all that chaos is gonna look awesome on the big screen.

Taking it easy this weekend. Not really doing much tonight, but tomorrow’s a big day! I’ll mention the main reason later, but the other reason is because I’m taking a big step in reducing the clutter in my life. I’m going to go through my stuff tomorrow and get ready to sell off a whole bunch of my toys that I’ve collected in recent years.

I know, right? Didn’t see that one coming, didja? But yep, it’s true. Time for me to drop some baggage and hopefully make a little coin while I’m at it. Yes, I’m going to keep one or two things. But the vast majority is going bye-bye. I think I’ma try Craigslist for most of it. Might see if some of you guys, ie. my LEGO pals, are interested in buying via one of our online communities. So stay tuned and I’ll link ya through here, if you’re interested.

Oh, one more thing I wanted to share. I was watching Monday’s episode of Heroes on Hulu, and there was this deaf lady who has discovered she has the ability to “see” sound. Random noises produce pretty pretty lights that only she can see, and the effect is pretty cool to watch. She finally… I dunno, embraced(?) her power towards the end of the episode, and she played a cello so she could see the trippy lights.



Now, obviously, she was faking it. I doubt she really knows how to play. Which is fine, of course. It still looked cool! My only real beef was that instead of going the extra mile and actually bringing in a real cellist to play the music dubbed over this scene, they cheaped out and use a flippin’ synthesizer. LAME. Come on, it’s not like it was a difficult piece to play! Were all the professional cellists busy on the day you recorded this? Heck, call me. I’ll be happy to help you out. LOL

Have a good weekend, friend!

iPSotD:

XKCD comics. The teachers are usually the ones who get them.

XKCD comics. The teachers are usually the ones who get them.

  1. October 2, 2009 at 9:49 pm

    I saw the preview for 2012! You know that all the people are going to start freaking out after that movie. A lot of people out there do really believe it’s the end of the world. I can’t wait to see how Obama is going to handle that scandal. hehe! That rhymed.

    I always always point out to my family if someone is not actually playing. Including this time. At least they did go over some of the finger spacing though!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

