Home > Current Events > Chivalry vs. Creepy

Chivalry vs. Creepy

September 29, 2009 Leave a comment Go to comments
Click to visit the XKCD webcomic

Click to visit the XKCD webcomic

So, which one are you?

This morning on News 8 Daybreak, there was a brief blurb about how these days, more and more acts of chivalry are considered to be creepy instead of sweet.

Doesn’t it suck that that’s how the world is these days? I mean, yes, there are still plenty of ladies out there who appreciate chivalry. I would know, I’m marrying one! I love opening doors and carrying bags for Jenn, that’s just the way I am. And thank God I found me the one who genuinely appreciates every little thing I do along those lines.

But what about the rest of those poor old hopeless romantics out there? I know I’m not the only one. So many guys out there mean well, opening doors, offering to carry groceries, paying for dinner and a movie, rearranging a girl’s underwear drawer… okay, not that last one. But it does seem like more and more ladies are more than ready to go ahead and lump those all in the same category! Of course, looking at the way so many guys are out there these days, I can’t say I blame them. I mean, let’s face it, dudes, our gender has the lion’s share of jerkwads in the world. Call it chauvinism, call it whatever you want, but the reality of it is that we’ve fallen down on the job. Big time. As a result, those few of us left in the world who aren’t afraid to lend a hand only because it’s the gentlemanly thing to do are instead perceived as pervs and creepazoids by a growing number of ladies.

Can we change this? Probably not. It’s a case of the many ruining it for the few. Yes, I wrote that right. Most dudes out there are gonna continue to be dishonest, gross nogoodniks, and as society just continues to languish in its “Do what feels good” mentality, it will keep getting worse. By the way, “languish” is one of those words that I just love to say. Llllanguish. Anyway, yeah, that’s just the way a fair share of America’s going to be for the rest of our days, and there’s not much we can do about them.

But don’t give up, friend! The art of the gentlemen may be a dying past-time, but as America’s Greatest D-Bag, Kanye West, says so eloquently, “That tha-that that that don’t kill me, can only make me strongah!” Kanye is certainly not a part of our gentlemanly culture, but he speaks/raps words of wisdom. Don’t be afraid of the growing stereotype that any acts of chivalry are gross and creepy. Keep opening that door! Keep picking up the check! Take her to that ridiculous romantic comedy! Stay home with her on a Friday night and watch her “Steel Magnolias” DVD that she may or may not have worn a hole in from so many viewings! Sooner or later, you will find a lady that appreciates everything you do for her, and you will win her heart. And ladies, I promise, you will get what you deserve one of these days. I’m a firm believer that for every woman out there who is truly appreciative of gentlemanlinessness, there is a man somewhere out there for you. I’m sure there’s even one out there for you, Kilo.

Men (and ladies, I won’t judge), there’s a GREAT website that I encourage you to check out. The Art of Manliness is a bastion for men like us in these turbulent times. Not only does it teach you everything you could ever need to know about being a Teddy Roosevelt-level manly man, but it also promotes the wholesome image of the gentleman. Plus, they link you up to some mighty fine merchandise that every man should have. I’m so achin’ for one of those Saddleback Leather Company briefcases. Tasty stuff. I wish the Art of Manliness would give me a bag of money for advertising for them, so I could afford the $600 price tag.

Anyway, that’s all I have to say about it. I don’t know why that irks me so much, but I saw that 45 second blurb on the news this morning and it’s been buggin’ me ever since. What is going on with this world?

Whoa.

Whoa.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

