Home > Church, Friends, Music > “Beautiful day for a wedding!”

“Beautiful day for a wedding!”

September 28, 2009 Leave a comment Go to comments

Those were the first words out of Troll’s mouth when I picked him up on Saturday. How great is that?

Despite all the drama leading up to it, the wedding was awesome. I was with Matt every step of the way, and never once did I see a flicker of doubt cross his face. In the eleven years I’ve known him, this truly was the happiest I’ve ever seen him. Dude was lookin’ sharp in his suit, and Laura looked fantastic in her dress. Jenn couldn’t stop talking about how beautiful she looked in it… and if Jenn says the wedding dress looks good, then that means Laura did REALLY good! LOL! Laura was so funny after the ceremony. While we were all waiting in the bridal suite to be introduced at the reception, she was twirling around in place. Everyone was like “Aww, how cute.” She was really just trying to get some air under the dress so she could cool off. HAH. And really, that’s how the entire evening was. Matt and Laura were both hilarious. I can’t tell you how many times I was watching them when they thought no one was, and they shared a brief little “I love you” moment. They were so sweet to each other all night.

Hands down, the best part was when Laura surprised Matt with his groom’s cake. The big gag was that EVERYONE but Matt knew what the groom’s cake was. She even showed it to me right before the big unveiling, and I totally had to high-five her. For those of you who don’t know Matt, he has an unnatural obsession with “The Simpsons.” The dude loves that show to a ridiculous degree. Well, Laura did good, to say the least. She got Matt a groom’s cake that was a giant pink sprinkled donut, with Homer Simpson laying on top of it. I swear, Matt jumped out of his suit when he saw it. You could hear his “YESSS!!!!!!!!!” clear across town. It was greatness! He was so incredibly happy. I can’t tell you how many times I heard him say, “Best day of my life… so far!” throughout the day.

Something else I noticed was how great Laura’s family was with Matt. Matt has a pretty small family, and I think he was really excited to marry into such a big family. I watched in-law after in-law come up to Matt, give him a huge hug and welcome him to the family. The look on his face said to me that he had a feeling of acceptance that he’s never felt in his life. And I can’t tell you how happy I am for him to finally get to feel that. And Laura’s brother… oh man, is he a trip. His name is Matt, too, and the boy was huggin’ on Matt ALL night. They were calling each other brother left and right, and it was classic. Absolutely fantastic.

To finish off the night, Matt and Laura invited family and friends to come hang out in their hotel room for the evening. Now granted, I know that sounds awkward as heck. And up until Saturday night, I thought it was a terrible idea. After all, they just got married. WHY would you want to use the hotel room that night for anything other than… well, you know?

But I got to thinking throughout the evening about how Matt thrives in the thick of the party. He’s always loved having his friends over to hang out. When we shared an apartment a few years back, there were MAYBE one or two nights a week where we didn’t have anyone over to hang out with us. So if he and Laura want to be with their loved ones a little while longer, not wanting the night to end just because they have to leave the reception hall at 8 PM… well, who are we to tell them how they should do it?

So yep, we decided at the last minute that we went to hang out with them in the hotel room. Jenn, Misty, Daniel, Allen, and I all went over there and hung out with them for a couple hours. Laura’s family came over for a bit, too. There was lots of drinking, laughing, throwing stuff, and fireworks! And you know what? Yes, it was a little awkward. I am one conservative son of a gun, and I’m a big believer in sticking to tradition for events such as weddings. But Matt’s been one of my best friends for eleven years, and I’m not gonna back out on him just because he and his wife want to get a little goofy with their day. Sometimes you have to sacrifice a little for the happiness of the ones you care about. And I have no regrets whatsoever. ๐Ÿ™‚

Matt told me that he and Laura, in an effort to save money, are staying home for their honeymoon. They’ve both taken a week off of work, and they’re going to spend time going to see movies, hanging out at Six Flags, spending quality time together, and whatever else they feel like doing. I thought that was a great idea, and I’m proud of them for doing that. I’ve been praying for them ever since I first started hearing about “the drama,” and I’m continuing to do so. I wish nothing but the best for them, and I hope everything works out for them in their new life together.

*whew* Man, got a little long-winded there, didn’t I?

Anyhoo, that wasn’t the only big deal this weekend. Yesterday, our church voted in our new music minister! Joel (pronounced Jo-el) Salazar comes to us after 19 years leading worship at Central Baptist in Livingston. He and his wife have two daughters and a son, all of whom are amazing musicians. Their 18 year old daughter plays the violin (VERY well), so woo-hoo, I’m no longer the only string in the band! Joel seems very down-to-earth and genuine, as does the rest of his family, so I’m very excited about him officially starting on November 1st!

iPSotD:

Allen eating a Texas Burrito at Montereys yesterday.  NOMZ.

Allen eating a Texas Burrito at Monterey's yesterday. NOMZ.

  1. Chris
    September 28, 2009 at 12:57 pm

    Lovely wedding news, but that burrito takes the cake! Me wantz Monterey’s NOW!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

