Home > Jenn & Me, Work > Isla de Encanto.

Isla de Encanto.

Man, I could go for one of those. HAHA. But seriously, that’s on the Puerto Rico quarter I got today.

Anyway, how are you? I’m fried, thanks. For those of you who don’t know, I’ve spent the last couple of days off of work (and school last night), because I’ve been helping Jenn move to a new school. Yep, the low enrollment at her old school finally took its toll, and Jenn was told she had to move. To say Jenn’s distraught about the entire situation could quite possibly be the understatement of the century. And who can blame her? After the awful year she had last year, she started this year with some of the sweetest kids to ever exist in the history of the universe. A week and a half into the new year, and what happens? They make her divvy them up to the other teachers and move away.

Now, I’m the first to say that this is obviously something to do with God’s plan. I have no question about that, and I’m excited to see what He’s going to do with her. But, like Jenn, I’m still in the “It’s not fair” mode. Because of some bureaucratic procedural nonsense, SHE is the one that is being made to move away from a school and a team of teachers that she absolutely adores. And frankly, it’s really not fair at all. I feel terrible for her. She broke down pretty bad last night when we went to get the last load of stuff from her old classroom. I had to sit and hold her for a good long while until she could calm down enough to stand up and walk to the car. It broke my heart to see her that way, and it took every fiber of my being to not snap and punch a hole in the freakin’ wall. I am so full of rage because of the way she’s getting jerked around, and I hate that there’s really nothing I can do about it but be the one she can fall on when she’s hurting.

What makes matters worse is that they were supposed to give her plenty of time to get her room set up and her lesson plans written up, so she can start with the new kids in the best way possible. But then they told her yesterday afternoon that she’s going to start teaching on Tuesday. Let’s do the math here: The building is closed for Saturday through Monday because of Labor Day. That means she has… ONE DAY to set up her classroom.

Am I the only one seeing how absolutely ludicrous this whole situation is?

I’m hoping that this is just some big misunderstanding. Jenn’s going to talk to her new boss today and let him know that she really needs just one more day to get everything ready. It’s going to take her all of today just to get her room set up. If she can have Tuesday to work up her lesson plans and make last minute adjustments, she will be absolutely good to go on Wednesday. I pray that they give her that extra day. It’s the least they can do after all the crap she’s been dealt this week. Her new bosses and team have been nothing but nice to her since we first met them on Wednesday, so hopefully they won’t screw everything up by getting too pushy already.

Anyway, Jenn and I should get to have some fun this weekend. We’re going to go to IKEA in Frisco to get something for her new room tonight. Tomorrow and Sunday, we’re going to go to the Arlington High Orchestra Reunion at J. Gilligan’s and Randol Mill Park. Should be a lot of fun, I can’t wait to see my old orch dork buddies. 🙂 No solid plans yet for Labor Day, but I’m sure we’ll do something.

Here’s a couple of iPSotD’s. I think I’m still one short, but I’m leaving it at this unless anyone really has their heart set on me keeping up. Hope you have a great weekend, friend.

Jenn w/her new school mascot.

Jenn w/her new school mascot.

Its not red, but I still likes it.

It's not red, but I still likes it.

  1. Br.
    September 4, 2009 at 1:46 pm

    Puerto Rican…

    Isla de Encanto= enchanted island

    Puerto Rico= rich port, port of gold, port of riches (Spanish thought the island had gold.)

    • collinharvey
      September 4, 2009 at 1:50 pm

      Yo hablo Espanol, homey. 😉

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

