Home > Church, Jenn & Me, School, Work > Faux Frahdy!

Faux Frahdy!

Yep, today’s a Faux Frahdy. We’re off for Good Friday tomorrow, and I look forward to just doing my own thing for the day. I’m sad that Jenn has to work, though. Silly Grand Prairie with their not-matching-Arlington holidays. But I do get to go up to her school for her class Easter Egg Hunt in the afternoon, so that’ll be fun. I’ll prob’ly take her lunch too, cuz that’s how I roll. 😉

I’ve had a lot of weird stuff happen to me this week. I was telling Jenn last night that I keep forgetting to tell her these things, because they’re so weird that they just throw me off completely. So I intentionally push them out of my head so I can focus on whatever I’m supposed to be doing at the time. At any rate, in light of this week’s wackyness, here’s this week’s quasi/semi/not-even-regular-in-any-way edition of “… What The Crap Just Happened?”

• Yesterday I was sitting in the University Center before class, and this random guy walks up and asks if he can use my laptop to check his Facebook. He said he was meeting a friend there, so I figured he was needing to check Facebook for a message to see what he/she looks like, or whatever. The guy was not a threat to me at all, so I was happy to oblige. He sat down and opened up his email, downloaded a picture of himself playing Guitar Hero, then opened up both Facebook and MySpace and changed his profile picture in both places to that picture. Then thanked me and got up and left. That was it.

• Completely unrelated to that, about ten minutes later, the fire alarm went off, and we had to evacuate the building.

• Earlier in the day yesterday, I was working in one of my computer labs, and a teacher who was administering tests in there walked into the lab and called one of the vice-principals, because she just heard “strange noises” coming from a stall in the girl’s bathroom. She then figured out there were two girls in that stall.

• And for the grand finale… Monday morning I walk down the hall to the faculty restroom. I should preface this by saying that the men’s faculty restroom is designed for only one occupant (as opposed to the women’s, which has more than one stall). Anyway, when I open the door to the men’s room, I hear a guy clear his throat and cough. I immediately close the door without seeing anything, thank goodness. I was still kind of irritated, of course, since the guy didn’t lock the stupid door like he was supposed to. But still, no biggy. Didn’t see anything, and I could just walk down to the other end of the hall and use the other men’s room.

So I get down there to the other one, and I open the door… and there’s a rather old man sitting on the toilet. He looks straight at me and says, “Oh! Sorry!”

Now, of course, it was bad enough that I had to see him sitting on that toilet. But to make matters worse, HE SAW ME. So now if I see this rather old man in the hallway again… yeah, it’s gonna be a little awkward. And it certainly didn’t help my addled brain that I had basically just walked in on TWO different people using the bathroom back-to-back. Messed me up real good, I tell you what. Had to walk around the school a couple of times before my easily embarrassed face wasn’t red anymore.

*sigh* So anyway, yeah, weird week. This is supposed to be a Holy Week too, people, COME ON.

On that note, tonight’s the Maundy Thursday service at church. This is the service that commemorates the Last Supper. Never been to this one before, so I’m looking forward to it. And yes, I’m skipping school to go to church. How ’bout them apples? Anyway, tomorrow night’s the Good Friday service. It’s a Tenebrae service, which is basically a very sad and moving candlelit service. The candles are put out one by one throughout the service until the sanctuary is in complete darkness at the end, thus marking the death of Jesus on the cross. It’s pretty powerful stuff, and this will be the second Tenebrae service I’ll have ever done, so I’m pretty excited about being a part of it.

Then Sunday is the Easter service, which is just gonna be fun. That’s when I’m doing the Casting Crowns song on cello with Gordon backing me up on piano. I can’t wait for that one.

Anyway, whether or not you have tomorrow off, I bid thee a happy Faux Friday. I hope it’s a good and blessed one for you.

Photo Booth Shot of the Day:

This was actually kinda hard to line up.

This was actually kinda hard to line up.

  1. Erin
    April 9, 2009 at 10:38 am

    This is supposed to be a Holy Week too, people, COME ON. – without a doubt my FAVORITE line in this post….what a week you’ve had.

    I won’t be there tonight (Nokia) – so happy Monday-Thursday (as everyone keeps calling it)…and I’ll be helping in the nursery tomorrow night – so if I don’t see you, then you should just know that I am WAY excited about hearing you and Gordon on Sunday!

    Happy Faux-Nothing-Because-I-Don’t-Get-Anything-Off-This-Week!

  2. collinharvey
    April 9, 2009 at 10:43 am

    LOL! Thanks Erin, see you Sunday!

  3. April 10, 2009 at 7:44 am

    Supposedly we marketing folks are working today, even though none of our clients are going to be in the office. I’m angling for going home early.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

