Home > Church, Current Events > Scary… but is it for real?

Scary… but is it for real?

From pastor David Wilkerson’s blog:

I am compelled by the Holy Spirit to send out an urgent message to all on our mailing list, and to friends and to bishops we have met all over the world.

AN EARTH-SHATTERING CALAMITY IS ABOUT TO HAPPEN. IT IS GOING TO BE SO FRIGHTENING, WE ARE ALL GOING TO TREMBLE – EVEN THE GODLIEST AMONG US.

For ten years I have been warning about a thousand fires coming to New York City. It will engulf the whole megaplex, including areas of New Jersey and Connecticut. Major cities all across America will experience riots and blazing fires—such as we saw in Watts, Los Angeles, years ago.

There will be riots and fires in cities worldwide. There will be looting—including Times Square, New York City. What we are experiencing now is not a recession, not even a depression. We are under God’s wrath. In Psalm 11 it is written,

“If the foundations are destroyed, what can the righteous do?” (v. 3).

God is judging the raging sins of America and the nations. He is destroying the secular foundations.

The prophet Jeremiah pleaded with wicked Israel, “God is fashioning a calamity against you and devising a plan against you. Oh, turn back each of you from your evil way, and reform your ways and deeds. But they will say, It’s hopeless! For we are going to follow our own plans, and each of us will act according to the stubbornness of his evil heart” (Jeremiah 18:11-12).

In Psalm 11:6, David warns, “Upon the wicked he will rain snares (coals of fire)…fire…burning wind…will be the portion of their cup.” Why? David answered, “Because the Lord is righteous” (v. 7). This is a righteous judgment—just as in the judgments of Sodom and in Noah’s generation.

WHAT SHALL THE RIGHTEOUS DO? WHAT ABOUT GOD’S PEOPLE?

First, I give you a practical word I received for my own direction. If possible lay in store a thirty-day supply of non-perishable food, toiletries and other essentials. In major cities, grocery stores are emptied in an hour at the sign of an impending disaster.

As for our spiritual reaction, we have but two options. This is outlined in Psalm 11. We “flee like a bird to a mountain.” Or, as David says, “He fixed his eyes on the Lord on his throne in heaven—his eyes beholding, his eyelids testing the sons of men” (v. 4). “In the Lord I take refuge” (v. 1).

I will say to my soul: No need to run…no need to hide. This is God’s righteous work. I will behold our Lord on his throne, with his eye of tender, loving kindness watching over every step I take—trusting that he will deliver his people even through floods, fires, calamities, tests, trials of all kinds.

Note: I do not know when these things will come to pass, but I know it is not far off. I have unburdened my soul to you. Do with the message as you choose.

God bless and keep you,

In Christ,

DAVID WILKERSON

Normally I’d be all like, “Yeah, whatever.” But this guy is pretty well-known in the Christian world, so I’m more like, “Dang, what if?”

In this day and age, doomsday scenarios really are more possible than they used to be. This world’s going to crap, plain and simple, and it probably won’t be long before something big happens. But is Wilkerson’s prophecy the real deal? Here’s a dissenting opinion from John Piper:

The Bible says, “Do not despise prophecies, but test everything; hold fast what is good” (1 Thessalonians 5:20-21).

David Wilkerson will cause a good many hearts to pound faster with his pronouncement that “AN EARTH-SHATTERING CALAMITY IS ABOUT TO HAPPEN.” New Yorkers especially will swallow hard: “It will engulf the whole megaplex, including areas of New Jersey and Connecticut.”

What shall we make of this? The part that depends on the Bible we should take with absolute seriousness. You don’t need to have special revelation to know that the rejection of Jesus Christ as Lord is the norm in America. Therefore, we stand under the judgment of God and it is only a matter of time till the present judgments (Romans 1:18-32) give way to spiritual awakening or punitive calamities (2 Thessalonians 1:6-8).

But the part of the prophecy that goes beyond what the Bible says, we measure by biblical standards. Two things give me pause in Wilkerson’s extra-biblical specifics.

First, it does not resonate with my spirit when he claims that God told him to “lay in store a thirty-day supply of non-perishable food, toiletries and other essentials” because when disaster comes “grocery stores are emptied in an hour.” God might have said this. But it doesn’t smell authentic to me. Too prudential. Too reminiscent of the embarrassing Y2K excesses.

Second, my confidence level drops when the Scriptures are not handled carefully. Wilkerson says, one way we can respond is: “As David says, ‘He fixed his eyes on the Lord on his throne in heaven—his eyes beholding, his eyelids testing the sons of men’” (Psalm 11:4).

This does not have the feel of authority to me because what Psalm 11:4 really says is: “The Lord is in his holy temple; the Lord’s throne is in heaven; his eyes see, his eyelids test the children of man.”

So my take on this prophetic word is that the scare will probably do good for a lot of people. The Bible is a scary book. And the future that is coming on unbelievers is scary beyond anything any preacher could conjure up.

But my own effort to be discerning says: Stick with the Bible, David. It is scary enough. And it is absolutely true. And your credibility will never fall.

(Thanks to Matt Henslee for pointing me to that article!)

Make sense. So what should we make of it? Heck if I know. But what I do know is that it CAN happen very easily, as things just get more and more volatile as time goes on. Iran, N. Korea, Russia, the economy… what’s going to be the breaking point that sets it all off? Will God cast judgment on the USA using one of our currently developing problems? I guess only time will tell. One thing’s for sure, though. God has already secured victory over whatever evil breaks out, and I know my soul is safe thanks to Him, regardless of what may happen in this world.

And now, on a considerably lighter note…

Photo Booth Shot of the Day:

Sweet Nectar.

Sweet Nectar.

  1. March 9, 2009 at 10:42 am

    Good work, God is sovereign and has secured victory…nice post, very balanced.

    Sweet Nectar, huh?

  2. collinharvey
    March 9, 2009 at 10:58 am

    Thanks Matt, I appreciate your comment.

    And yeah, sweet nectar. I don’t drink Dr. Pepper during the week, so Coke Zero is my backup. I’m actually trying to slowly cut sodas out the equation all together. I’ve been drinking much more water lately, even when we go out to eat. I think Colin B.’s been rubbing off on me. Haha!

  3. redeemedhippiesplace
    March 10, 2009 at 7:42 pm

    There’s nothing wrong with having a 30 day supply of food or even a few months worth is it? If nothing happens, then look at it as the mercy of God. If something does happen (and it most certainly will at some point, God will not let America keep going the way she is) then perhaps you will have enough to help another in need that did not heed the warning. Catastrophies happen all around the world. Why should America think we are any better?

    See link below for something you may not have known about David Wilkerson concerning Sept. 11. Be blessed.

    http://redeemedhippiesplace.wordpress.com/2009/03/10/something-you-may-not-have-known-about-david-wilkersonheed-wilkersons-warning/

  4. collinharvey
    March 11, 2009 at 6:43 am

    You are absolutely correct! It does not hurt at all to take such precautions in this day and age.

    Maybe I didn’t make myself clear in my initial entry here, but my point is, quite simply, that I don’t know if he’s right or not. I did know about the September 11th thing. Does that mean he’s making another prediction that will bring doom to our fair country? Maybe so. Or maybe not. Time will tell, and all we can do in the mean time is pray for our salvation (or stockpile, if we feel moved to do so). 🙂

    God Bless you, my friend.

  5. redeemedhippiesplace
    March 11, 2009 at 10:54 am

    I have watched Wilkersons’ life for the past two decades. I have listenend to him and received his newsletters. I believe he is the real deal, especially compared to todays’ teachers and preachers. I do believe he has heard from God. The thing is, he has not been the only one. There are a lot of people who are getting these same things in themselves. Something, sooner or later is going to happen. May we all be prepared, especially spiritually. May we all know God in such a mighty way. You be blessed too, endtime friend!
    P.S. I accidently deleted your post on my blog. I thought it was spam. Sorry.

  1. March 11, 2009 at 7:44 am

Leave a Reply

